Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Currently Reading: The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

For my first post on my fresh new blog, I thought I’d start with telling everyone what I’m reading at the moment. Perhaps I could do it in a sort of profile kind of way, as follows:

Title: The Girl Before

Author: J.P. Delaney

Genre: Thriller

Pages: 448

Format I’m using: Kindle

Synopsis: Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to live in a beautiful ultra-minimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of exacting rules. After moving in, she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there – and starts to wonder if her own story will be a re-run of the girl before.

So far…

I’ve literally just started reading this book but the synopsis above really drew me in. I had come across this title in a book store in Berlin in January. It hadn’t actually been released in Ireland yet, but as soon as it was, I bought it on Kindle.

Before I go any further I just want to point out that I’m very slowly making the transition to Kindle. I must have nearly 100 paperbacks to read so I won’t be fully converted for some time. Not that I don’t enjoy a good paperback, plus friends and family still buy them for me! Plus, I also listen to audiobooks but that’s another post.

Anyway, I decided that this would be my next read. Just 11% in and I’m already intrigued. The chapters appear to go back and forth between Emma and Jane, and even though the synopsis essentially reveals Emma’s fate, I can’t help but sympathise with her and foolishly root for her.

Has anyone else read this book? No spoilers please, but I would love your thoughts.

Happy reading!

 

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

