Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Currently reading: The Shining by Stephen King

My brother loaned me this book to read. I have only read two Stephen King books so far (It and Pet Semetary), which I have mixed feelings about. Don’t get me wrong, Stephen King is a good author, I just find he uses too much detail in terms of character backgrounds. While it’s nice to have detail, sometimes the reader can be overwhelmed by so much information that you can lose sight of the actual story that’s being told.

Synopsis: Danny was only five years old but in the words of old Mr Hallorann he was a ‘shiner’, aglow with psychic voltage. When his father became caretaker of the Overlook Hotel his visions grew frighteningly out of control.

As winter closed in and blizzards cut them off, the hotel seemed to develop a life of its own. It was meant to be empty, but who was the lady in Room 217, and who were the masked guests going up and down in the elevator? And why did the hedges shaped like animals seem so alive?

Somewhere, somehow there was an evil force in the hotel – and that too had begun to shine…

My thoughts so far: As I mentioned above, even though I’m just a quarter through this book, King’s extensive descriptions about nearly everything is making it a slow read. But that could also be due to the fact that I know how it ends, thank you Friends! I know the film adaptation by Stanley Kubrick wasn’t true to the book and that King actually disliked it, but it’s hard not to picture Jack Torrence as Jack Nicholson. In spite of the descriptions, I am enjoying it, I’m curious to find just how much of the book Kubrick steered away from and why. But I make a mental note not to read it at night!

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

