Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Currently Reading: Not Dead Enough by Peter James

I’m addicted to the Roy Grace series by Peter James. This is the third book in the series and I’ve been reading them in order. I’m actually going to see the play adaptation of this book on Tuesday, 18th April and I can’t wait, though neither Bill Ward or Shane Richie look anything like I pictured my new favourite detective, but who does?

Synopsis: On the night Brian Bishop murdered his wife, he was sixty miles away, asleep in bed at the time. At least, that’s the way it looks to Detective Superintendent Roy Grace who is called in to investigate the kinky slaying of beautiful young Brighton socialite, Katie Bishop.

Soon, Grace starts coming to the conclusion that Bishop has performed the apparently impossible feat of being in two places at once. Has someone stolen his identity, or is he simply a very clever liar? As Grace digs deeper behind the facade of the Bishops’ outwardly respectable lives, it starts to become clear that all is not at all as it first seemed. And then he digs just a little too far, and suddenly the fragile stability of his own troubled, private world is facing destruction . . .
My thoughts so far: Perhaps I’m a little biased because I started reading this with high expectations and, as always, Peter James doesn’t fail to disappoint. I think I’ve figured out part of the mystery, but knowing this author, there are plenty of twists and turns to come. Plus we get a further look into the mysterious disappearance of Roy Grace’s wife, who vanished on his 30th birthday nine years previously. What happened to her? Is she alive? Dead? Roy is currently dating the beautiful mortician Cleo and I find myself rooting for her over the elusive Sandy. Would Roy really leave Cleo if he found his wife safe and sound? Because Sandy had already disappeared when the events of the first book took place, I’ve formed no real bond with her character so naturally I hope Cleo wins out!
Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

