Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

WWW Wednesday: 10th May 2017

This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

What are you currently reading?

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

I’m absolutely loving this book! I haven’t yet watched the series but I can really picture Reese Witherspoon playing Madeline! I feel a strong empathy for the three main girls: Madeline, Jane and Celeste, who are very likable characters Big_Little_Lies_Coverand yet so different from each other. Madeline is married to her second husband Ed with three children (one from her first marriage). Sadly for her, her ex-husband Nathan who abandoned her and their newborn daughter, now lives in the same town with his “perfect”, younger wife Bonnie. Jane is a young, single mother who is ostracised from most of her fellow mothers (aside from Madeline and Celeste of course!) when her son Ziggy is accused of attacking one of his classmates. And then there’s Celeste, married to a rich husband who treats her like a queen, but he has one flaw…he beats her. Not even Madeline knows this, as Celeste is good at keeping her abuse a secret but it’s clear cracks are showing. The whole story is leading to the school trivia night on which a parent is murdered. Throughout the book we get snippets of testimony from all the parents and teachers, speculating over what led to the tragedy. There are so many questions up in the air but I don’t find it overwhelming or frustrating, as it is easy to follow. What I want to know is: who’s dead and who did it?

What did you recently finish reading?

The Kindness by Polly Samsonthe-kindness

I actually really didn’t enjoy this book. The shifts between timelines were too subtle that a lot of times I ended up missing them. I couldn’t empathise with any of the characters, which is important for me in a book, otherwise there’s no connection to the story itself. It was a struggle to finish, I usually like to finish what I started but I almost made an exception for this book. Almost!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Dead Man’s Footsteps by Peter James

Peter James is a close second to Linwood Barclay as my favourite crime writer. Th51JLmc5LeXL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_e first book I ever bought of his was actually House on Cold Hill, which is a paranormal story (I love the paranormal!) and I haven’t actually read it yet! The first book I received of his Roy Grace series was from my further Father-in-Law and I think it was number 12 in the series. I wound up giving it to my parents to read and subsequently got them books 13 and 14. I don’t know what made me decide to read the series, maybe it was because Amazon were selling the first book Dead Simple for 49p on Kindle. It was an investment because I’ve been hooked ever since! My mam, my sister and I went to see a play based on the third book Not Dead Enough recently (which I sped-read prior to the night). Dead Man’s Footsteps is the fourth book in the series and I’m eager to keep going.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 10th May 2017

  1. I’m sorry The Kindness wasn’t for you. Hopefully, your current read is keeping you going and the one you’re getting to next looks like something you’ll enjoy. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

