Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Books For The Second Half of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This is another tough one because I have so many books to read that I avoid anticipating new books, which will only add to my pile! So for this list, I’ll list ten books on my TBR list that I’m looking forward to reading in the second half of 2017. That counts, right??

1. Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

Anna Kendrick is one of my favourite actresses, so naturally I want to read her book. It’s not a biography exactly, it’s more a collection of humorous outlooks on her life so far. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to reading it!

2. The Last Days of Night by Graham Moore

This was given to me by my brother and is based on the actual events of lawyer Paul Cravath’s battle with Thomas Edison over the patent of the lightbulb, though it’s classed as a work of fiction. This is soon to be turned into a film starring Eddie Redmayne.

3. The White Road by Sarah Lotz

This is actually a new release. I’ve read Lotz’s two previous books The Three and Day Four, which I loved (though the ending of Day Four was a little baffling). This is about a man desperate to be an internet sensation, who sets out to climb Mount Everest, which everyone knows isn’t an easy thing to do.

4. Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Another new release. Even though I didn’t particularly enjoy The Girl on the Train, Hawkins’ new book sounds intriguing so I’m hoping she’ll surprise me. After her mother is found dead in the river, seemingly following many before her, a fifteen-year-old girl stays with her aunt, who had tried to run away from this town long ago.

5. Consumed by Aaron Mahnke

I’m probably biased for wanting to read this because I love Mahnke’s podcast Lore so much, and if the stories he tells on it are anything to go by, this will be a very enjoyable book. Someone or something is killing people in the town of Kettering in a fashion similar to murders carried out in the same town thirty years before. I’m actually writing this in Mahnke’s voice!

6. The Snowman by Jo Nesbo

This is another book that’s set to be turned into a film, this one starring Michael Fassbender (no bias, I swear!). This is the seventh book in the Harry Hole series. A boy wakes up to find his mother gone and finds her scarf wrapped around the neck of a snowman, and she’s not the first to disappear.

7. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

My sister brought my attention to this book years ago and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. I’ve heard mostly good things about it and I’ve been reluctant to start a new series (because I know I won’t stop), but this will be my exception! It’s the story of a young girl named Karou who is dragged into an otherworldly war as she learns the truth behind her mysterious abilities.

8. The Vanished Ones by Donato Carrisi

Following up from The Whisperer, which I have mentioned in my previous blogs, this is the second book in the Mila Vasquez series. Hundreds of people who vanished from their former lives are suddenly returning bringing with them devastation, heartbreak…and murder.

9. Citadel by Kate Mosse

I’ve read both Labyrinth and Sepulchre and yet never got around to reading the final book in the series (and I absolutely LOVED the first two). Set in Nazi-occupied France, Sandrine is pulled into a Resistance group in Carcassonne – code-named ‘Citadel’, made up of women willing to risk their lives for what is right.

10. Dead Mountain: The Untold True Story of the Dyatlov Pass Incident by Donnie Eichar

This mystery is one that has always fascinated me. Some people claim it was an avalanche, but how was their tent still standing? And where did the severe injuries on some of the hikers come from? I don’t believe this is something supernatural, but there is definitely a cover-up.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Books For The Second Half of 2017

Leave a Reply

