Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Standalone Sunday: Phantoms by Dean Koontz

Standalone Sunday is a weekly book-tag created by Megan at Bookslayer Reads which aims to promote standalone books which you loved or would recommend.

This week I have chosen Phantoms by Dean Koontz, which I actually listened to on audio book which I found made it all that much better.32435

Goodreads Synopsis

CLOSER…
They found the town silent, apparently abandoned. Then they found the first body strangely swollen and still warm. One hundred fifty were dead, 350 missing. But the terror had only begun in the tiny mountain town of Snowfield, California.

AND CLOSER…
At first they thought it was the work of a maniac. Or terrorists. Or toxic contamination. Or a bizarre new disease.

AND CLOSER…
But then they found the truth. And they saw it in the flesh. And it was worse than anything any of them had ever imagined…

My Thoughts

The synopsis immediately appealed to me because I love a good mystery, especially a supernatural one, and this takes it to a whole new level. The story doesn’t hang around, everything gets going from the get-go and I love that the main protagonists do everything right. Having read so many predictable mysteries in the past (not always a bad thing), I was prepared for so many mishaps that I would be yelling in my car while listening to it. But this was not the case.

I have never read anything by Dean Koontz before but he has come highly recommended. Needless to say I was not disappointed. If you’re hoping to read this, I strongly urge you to get the audiobook because Buck Shirner does an amazing job.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

