Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Throwback Thursday: Fallen by Lauren Kate (Fallen #1)

Throwback Thursday is a book meme created by Renee (itsbooktalk) as a way to share your old favourites and reminisce about why you loved them so much.

Goodreads Synopsis

What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart.Fallen_cover

Why I love this book

They say you should never judge a book by it’s cover, but in this case I’ll admit that it was the cover that drew me in. That and the fact that the author and I share the same first name!

Having enjoyed the Twilight series because of my love of forbidden romance, this book seemed like one that I’d enjoy and I’m proud to say that I read it before any of the sequels were published (smug!). What really made this book great was the lack of a love triangle. Sure Cam does attempt to kiss our main protagonist Luce, but only to rile Daniel. Unfortunately the movie adaptation (if it’s still happening, I’m not sure) seems to play on a love triangle that didn’t exist in the book.

I enjoyed Daniel trying to repulse Luce in order to keep her away from him, and the setting itself was so unusual. I read the whole series which wasn’t too long or too short. Lauren Kate shows gives a new twist to the supernatural romance element and her imagination is incredible. She has become one of my favourite authors so naturally I recommend her books, especially this one.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

