Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

WWW Wednesday: 21st June 2017

This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

What are you currently reading?

Dead Man’s Footsteps by Peter James

This is the fourth book in the Roy Grace series and begins with a man who is in New York on the day of the 9/11 terrorist attacks. Then we find a body in a storm drain that’s been there for about 15 years. And finally we have a girl who has returned to England under a false name, clearly on the run from something. Right now, I’m not sure just how all of these stories are linked, but that’s what I love about Peter James, he’s good at threading stuff together but not before leaving you guessing. What I don’t like about the story so far is the new “hot shot” Cassien Pewe who is sniffing around the missing persons case of Roy Grace’s wife. Leave Roy alone!

51JLmc5LeXL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_ (1)

What did you recently finish reading?

Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

I’ve learned a lot about Anna Kendrick from this book, the number one revelation is that she loves smoking pot! Also that she is not prone to gossip. As much as I love a bit of dirt Anna kept it purely professional and only mentioned people whom I presume had given permission. I don’t think any less of her, in fact I only admire her more. She’s provided a new insight into Hollywood and I can’t help but think of her as not a celebrity, but just a regular person like the rest of us. The only difference is that she makes films for a living. She’s a girl you could pass on the street and think, ‘oh hey, I know her!’ and keep walking. Her anxiety was a comfort (sorry, Anna!) because it’s nice to know that even actors suffer mental health issues.

51OpzkJNL3L._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

What do you think you’ll read next?

Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney

A girl I work with introduced me to this book, as her roommate is friends with the author. Basically Sally Rooney sold this book for €500K and I want to know what half a million reads like! But the story also sounds good!

51KAGMZ0wwL

Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama

I’ve actually had this book right beside my bed for months now and yet I forgot about it. I even remember buying it, allowing myself just one book in one of my favourite bookshops. I can’t actually remember what it’s about though, and I’m too lazy to check Goodreads.

download (10)

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

