Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Throwback Thursday: The Reader by Bernhard Schlink

Throwback Thursday is a book meme created by Renee (itsbooktalk) as a way to share your old favourites and reminisce about why you loved them so much.

Goodreads Synopsis

When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she is on trial for a hideous crime. As he watches her refuse to defend her innocence, Michael gradually realizes that Hanna may be guarding a secret she considers more shameful than murder.

Why I love this book101299

I’ll be honest I half-expected this book to be a little creepy given the age gap between Michael and Hanna, but Schlink told it in such a way that it wasn’t just some seedy love story. Hanna especially is such an interesting character and her chemistry with Michael is so profound, you can really feel it coming off the pages. Even years later when they meet again under less-than-ideal circumstances, it’s clear Michael still cares about his former lover. The film is equally as good, though I know that’s a risky thing to say (the film is never as good as the book, and all that), but it was. Kate Winslet did a fantastic job as Hanna and I couldn’t imagine anyone else playing her.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

