Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Standalone Sunday: The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Standalone Sunday is a weekly book-tag created by Megan at Bookslayer Reads which aims to promote standalone books which you loved or would recommend.

Today I have chosen is The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton, a very large book gifted to me by my brother one Christmas.

Goodreads Synopsis

It is 1866, and young Walter Moody has come to make his fortune upon the New Zealand goldfields. On the stormy night of his arrival, he stumbles across a tense gathering of twelve local men who have met in secret to discuss a series of unexplained events: A wealthy man has vanished, a prostitute has tried to end her life, and an enormous fortune has been discovered in the home of a luckless drunk. Moody is soon drawn into the mystery: a network of fates and fortunes that is as complex and exquisitely ornate as the night sky.73.Eleanor+Catton-The+Luminaries

My Thoughts

I absolutely love this book because of how so many different stories tie so neatly into each other. Many times I find myself only wanting to read certain accounts of different people, but each chapter was so fascinating and kept me from putting the book down. There are a few characters to keep up with but I didn’t find this difficult at all and I found myself empathising with certain characters. I never believe a book should be longer than it needs to be (It, for example), but I think this story needed to be long in order to connect with the characters and fully grasp the essence of the story.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

