Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Throwback Thursday: The Mothman Prophecies by John A. Keel

Throwback Thursday is a book meme created by Renee (itsbooktalk) as a way to share your old favourites and reminisce about why you loved them so much.

This week I have chosen The Mothman Prophecies by John A. Keel. Some of you may already know that I’m a believer in the paranormal, so naturally I was drawn to this book.

Goodreads Synopsis

West Virginia, 1966. For thirteen months the town of Point Pleasant is gripped by a real-life nightmare that culminates in a tragedy that makes headlines around the world. Strange occurrences and sightings, including a bizarre winged apparition that becomes known as the Mothman, trouble this ordinary American community. Mysterious lights are seen moving across the sky. Domestic animals are found slaughtered and mutilated. And journalist John Keel, arriving to investigate the freakish events, soon finds himself an integral part of an eerie and unfathomable mystery…411T5PDBW3L

Why I love this book

Well for one thing, it’s paranormal! And it’s supposed to be true. I say ‘supposed’ because I know not everyone is a believer. And even believers may have trouble wrapping their heads around this cluster of mysteries that happened in a tiny town in the sixties. Like Skinwalker Ranch, there was no main phenomena in this story. Sure the book is called The Mothman Prophecies, but the Mothman itself isn’t the main topic of thebook. Even if you’re not a believer, this book is fascinating. Keel is an excellent writer and investigator and I feel he doesn’t force the reader to believe in these events as fact, instead he leaves it up to you to decide.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

