Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Throwback Thursday: Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

Throwback Thursday is a book meme created by Renee (itsbooktalk) as a way to share your old favourites and reminisce about why you loved them so much.

This week I have chosen Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson. I received this book as a gift from my fiance in 2012/13.

Goodreads Synopsis

As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child, thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me… 51e--ljGmeL._SX315_BO1,204,203,200_

Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love–all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.

Why I love this book

This book keeps you hooked from the start. You feel like you’re with Christine as she gradually pieces together what’s really going on in her life. She wakes up each morning to a man she doesn’t recognise and the only thing she has to cling to is the secret journal she is keeping, documenting each day before her mind resets. As if her life wasn’t complicated enough she doesn’t even know if the man claiming to be her husband is who he says he is.

In my opinion, you can either tell a complex story like this really well or really badly. Fortunately it’s the former in this situation. Watson does an excellent job at piecing together Christine’s life through simple means and the suspense builds as more and more secrets come to light. And I can safely say that the film does it justice.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

