Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

WWW Wednesday: 2nd August 2017

This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

What are you currently reading?

The House on Cold Hill by Peter James

I got this book before I started reading James’s Roy Grace crime series. I love a good ghost story but I’m only getting around to reading it now. Basically, this family of three moves into a large, dilapidated house in England’s countryside and immediately strange things start to happen. I read a similar story entitled The Secret of Crickley Hall by James Herbert, which was enjoyable so I’m looking forward to seeing James’s take on the haunted English country mansion.

Cold Hill

What did you recently finish reading?

Dead Mountain: The Untold True Story of the Dyatlov Pass Incident by Donnie Eichar

This is a mystery that has always fascinated me, and like everyone else, I had my own theories on what happened to the nine hikers. Until I read this book, of course. I won’t give away Eichar’s theory because I think you need to read the book to understand it. While scientific evidence backs up his theory, however, this is a story that will never be officially solved so it will always remain a theory and open to speculation. Eichar has me convinced though, so I thoroughly recommend this book.

Under A Pole Star by Stef Penney

I hate saying this after romancing about Penney’s books so much here, but I was a little disappointed with this book. Mostly the ending. Obviously, I’m not going to give anything away, but I felt it left too many questions and it was quite anti-climactic. In my opinion, the story was longer than it needed to be and that a lot of the pages were just filler. Still, I enjoyed a lot of parts of it so I won’t shy away from her books as a result.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The Snowman by Jo Nesbo

I’ll admit as soon as I heard this was going to be a film starring Michael Fassbender, I immediately wanted to read the book. The story itself sounds fascinating, so it’s not like I’m forcing myself to read it. It was actually my intended next book but given the tonnes of shoe boxes I have full of books, I couldn’t find it!

7779827

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

