Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

WWW Wednesday: 23rd August 2017

This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

What are you currently reading?

Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama

I bought this a couple of years ago thinking it was a crime thriller, and I’m not saying it isn’t, but it’s certainly not what I expected it to be. It’s more of a story about police cover-up. Fourteen years ago a little girl was kidnapped in Japan and held for ransom. The kidnapper got his ransom but in a cruel twist he killed the little girl anyway. Mikama is Press Director longing to be back in his detective boots. As he prepares for a visit from the Commissioner it’s his job to make sure everything goes smoothly but what actually happens is he ends up sniffing out a cover-up. It definitely keeps my attention and I’ve learned so much about the Japanese police and media system so it’s quite fascinating. I’m dying for the big twist that’s been played up on it.


What did you recently finish reading?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I really loved this book and I’m annoyed at myself for not reading it sooner. I have the sequels but I don’t like to jump into sequels too quickly so I’m going to wait until I finish Six Four before reading the second book, and I’ll take a break between the second and third book too.


What do you think you’ll read next?

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

The sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which I will definitely read this book next!


The Snowman by Jo Nesbo

And I haven’t given up on this yet either!

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

