Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Throwback Thursday: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Throwback Thursday is a book meme created by Renee (itsbooktalk) as a way to share your old favourites and reminisce about why you loved them so much.

This week I have chosen The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. Ever since I read the Chaos Walking trilogy by the same author, I’ve been a fan of Ness’s books. This one especially.

Goodreads Synopsis

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?22910900

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions…

Why I love this book

I love this book because it takes a look at the other characters. When I read books/watch films like Twilight, The Hunger Games, Harry Potter, etc. I feel a sense of pity for the characters that aren’t involved in the main story line and are going about their “dull” lives. But I also wonder, what do they do? And in this book Ness gives me an answer. He explores characters who have to sit back while the “chosen ones” risk blowing up the high school yet again. It’s an interesting, sometimes humorous, take on the side characters who don’t get to shine.

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

