Posted in Books, Literature, Reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books That Were A Chore To Get Through

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

It takes a LOT for me to put down a book unfinished, so I often find myself struggling to get through a book that just isn’t that great (for me) because I can’t justify putting it down.

1. It by Stephen King

I’m aware everyone seems to love this book, and I liked most parts of it myself, but it was not an easy read. I was hoping for something terrifying but I should’ve known what to expect from King’s drug-fuelled writing days! It was more messed than anything. Plus, it was over 1,000 pages long! Nevertheless I’m going to see the film on Friday.

2. The Kindness by Polly Samson

This was a book that I didn’t enjoy. As mentioned in a previous blog, the change in timelines was too subtle and a lot of the times it just left me confused. I couldn’t empathise with any of the characters and I wound up just barely finishing it.

3. Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney

I’ve said SO much about how much I didn’t enjoy this book on my blog. First things first, use quotation marks, Sally! It’s hard to know when a character is talking or not. And, like The Kindness, the characters were so bland that I just couldn’t connect with them. Rooney needs to learn what Irish people really act like, rather than Hollywood-ing us up!

4. In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

I keep reading books by this author and yet her stories keep disappointing me. I actually read ahead in this book because the story-line was borderline torture. Her characters are too stereotypical, which was also the case with her next book The Woman in Cabin 10 (but I listened to that on audio so it wasn’t as much a struggle). Nevertheless I know I’ll still read her new book The Lying Game because she’s damn good at reeling the reader in with her synopsis’!

5. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Another “classic” on my list. This was purely a struggle because of the writing, Burgess was writing in a tongue I wasn’t used to following in a book and so it was a struggle to keep going when I spent a lot of time re-reading each sentence. I enjoyed it regardless.

6. Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein

Yet another “classic” (apparently). This book was awful, in my opinion. I get it was written at a time when racism and sexism were rife, but it was supposed to be set in the future and yet the author seemed to hold on to these stereotypes. Looking back I honestly don’t know how I managed to finish it because half the time I didn’t even know what was happening.

7. The Hero With a Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell

I studied Joseph Campbell in my Positive Psychology class and I found his concept of the Hero’s Journey fascinating, especially when I learned that George Lucas wrote Star Wars with it in mind. However, there was a LOT of mythology in this book that it was hard to keep going because I was overloaded with information.

8. Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder

I’m going to be very honest here, I read this book to impress a guy I had a crush on at the time! Like Joseph Campbell, Gaarder fills this book with a tonne of information that becomes the equivalent of reading a college textbook from cover to cover. Instead of mythology, this was full of philosophy. Still a good story!

9. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

I’ve read a total of two Picoult books and I’ve found both to be emotionally draining. There’s no doubt that she is a very talented writer, but I just don’t have the emotional drive that it takes for me to read her books.

10. Dracula by Bram Stoker

I haven’t actually finished this, I’m ashamed to say. But I will!

Author:

I have a Bachelor degree in Psychology and a Masters degree in Journalism. I love to write, especially about mental health and animals. I like to use my blog as an outlet for new things I discover in these areas and experiences I have.

Leave a Reply

